Magnolia Bakery, New York City

New York City, New York

Magnolia Bakery started in New York City’s West Village in 1996 and has steadily increased in popularity and stores ever since.  They opened a store in Tokyo years ago but has always had a long line (which is typical of anywhere new in Tokyo), so I hadn’t actually tried their cupcakes before.  So when I was going to New York for vacation, I knew I had to stop by.

There are a number of different locations in New York, but I went to the Rockefeller Center location.  It still had a long line, but was way more manageable than Tokyo.  Plus the line moved rather quickly.

IMG_7899

Display cases were filled with sweets like cakes, pies, banana pudding, cookies, and of course cupcakes, it was difficult to decide what to get.

I decided to go with their famous red velvet (topped with whipped vanilla icing) and carrot cake cupcakes.

Being a traditionalist, the red velvet cake was really moist and tasty, but the whipped vanilla icing on top just didn’t feel like red velvet to me.  The whipped vanilla icing had a slight caramel flavor to it and did taste good though.  The carrot cake cupcake was also moist filled with raisins and walnuts and topped with cream cheese icing and walnuts.  I preferred this one to the red velvet, but I would’t turn down either!

IMG_7902

Even if you’re not near one of their locations, they do deliver nationwide in the US.  I just wish I could have tried more while I was in the US!

Magnolia Bakery
(dependent on location)
Rockefeller Center
7:00am to 10:00pm Monday to Thursday
7:00am to 12:00am Friday
8:00am to 12:00am Saturday
8:00am to 10:00pm Sunday

Leave a Reply

